Adresse: Rue des Rosiers, 75004 Paris, France
Map Url: https://www.parisinfo.com/transports/73274/Quartier-du-Marais

A hotel in Le Marais (Paris) near Rue des Rosiers: Hotel 9Confidentiel

We love the animated quarter, its shops, history, and beauty: Rue des Rosiers, an unavoidable street in the Le Marais quarter of Paris, is very easily accessible from theHotel 9Confidentiel.

Le Marais, the historical Jewish quarter of Paris

Rue des Rosiers, and more generally, the Le Marais quarter comprise the historically Jewish Quarter of Paris (also called Pletzl). It was during the nineteenth century that the Le Marais quarter welcomed an important wave of Jewish immigration, following the persecutions and anti-Semitism in Central and Eastern Europe. Even if the Jewish community is less represented today than in former times, due to gentrification, the footprint of the community remains, as do various incarnate details of Jewish culture: synagogues dotting the streets of the quarter, an active Yeshiva (center for studying the Torah), a hammam of Saint Paul reconstructed into a luxury boutique (at 4 Rue des Rosiers), Hebrew inscriptions here and there, specialized Yiddish delicatessens, and of course, a famous Holocaust memorial (Museum and Documentation Center).

Architecture to admire

Rue des Rosiers is equally known for the beauty of its buildings, none being of the Haussman style, a distinction in comparison to the numerous quarters in Paris. Most of the old mansions in the quarter have been transformed into museums. In 1962 André Malraux, the Minister of Culture at the time, placed Rue des Rosiers under protection to preserve the character and splendor. In 2005-2007, the quarter changed dramatically with a decision to pave and pedestrianize the streets. The decision provoked controversy as some feared the soul of the quarter would be distorted.

Some places to visit on Rue des Rosiers

The yellow shop of Sacha Finkelsztajn at 27 Rue des Rosiers, is a gastronomic landmark for savoring Yiddish cuisine, ranging from platters of pickled herring to Apfelstrüdel (a delicious pastry of apples and cinnamon). For fans of salty dishes, the Falafel Ace, at 32-34 Rue des Rosiers is a genuine establishment where crowds cease to gather from opening until close (closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays). In addition to the outlets of Yiddish cuisine, one can find numerous shops: Diasporama (souvenirs, bookstore) at 20 Rue des Rosiers ; Art 25 (Art Gallery), at 25 Rue des Rosiers; etc.

Practical Information: Hotel 9Confidentiel near Rue des Rosiers in Le Marais, Paris

Located in between the 3rd and 4th districts in Paris, the Le Marais quarter, andHotel 9Confidentiel are near Rue des Rosiers. Metro : Saint Paul (line 1), Hôtel de Ville (lignes 1 and 11) Since the luxury Hotel 9Confidentiel is near Rue des Rosiers, do not forget to visit Place des Vosges, Rue de Rivoli, the Centre Beaubourg Pompidou or l’Hôtel de Ville.

Adresse: Rue des Rosiers, 75004 Paris, France
Map Url: https://www.parisinfo.com/transports/73274/Quartier-du-Marais
Page détail: Page detail

Un hôtel dans le Marais (Paris) proche de la rue des Rosiers : l’hôtel 9 Confidentiel

On l’aime pour son animation, ses boutiques, son histoire et sa beauté : la rue des Rosiers, un incontournable du quartier du Marais à Paris, est très facilement accessible depuis l’hôtel 9 Confidentiel.

Le Marais, ancien quartier juif de Paris

La rue des Rosiers, et plus généralement, le quartier du Marais dans son ensemble, constituent l’ancien Quartier Juif de Paris (aussi appelé Pletzl). C’est au cours du XIX que le quartier du Marais se met à accueillir un flot important d’immigration juive, suite aux persécutions antisémites qui sévissent en Europe centrale et de l’Est. Si la communauté juive y est nettement moins représentée aujourd’hui qu’à une époque, tant le quartier s’est gentrifié, il reste encore aujourd’hui une empreinte identitaire forte, et de nombreux éléments incarnant la culture juive : synagogues parsemant les rues du quartier, une yeshiva en activité (centre d’étude de la Torah), hammam de Saint Paul aujourd’hui réhabilité en boutique de luxe (au n°4 de la rue des Rosiers), inscriptions en hébreu ça et là, traiteurs de spécialités culinaires yiddish, et bien sûr, un fameux mémorial de la Shoah (Musée et Centre de Documentation).

Une architecture à admirer

La rue des Rosiers est également connue pour la beauté de ses immeubles, qui n’ont rien d’Haussmannien, ce qui dénote comparé à de nombreux quartiers de Paris. Les anciens et nombreux hôtels particuliers que l’on peut y croiser sont aujourd’hui pour la plupart transformés en musées. Afin d’en préserver le caractère et la splendeur, André Malraux, alors ministre de la culture place la rue des Rosiers sous protection en 1962. En 2005-2007, le quartier change de visage avec la décision d’en paver et d’en piétonniser les rues. Décision qui provoqua la polémique à l’époque tant on craignait que cela dénature l’âme de l’endroit.

Quelques lieux où s’arrêter dans la rue des Rosiers

La boutique jaune de Sacha Finkelsztajn au 27 rue des Rosiers, est un haut-lieu pour savourer une gastronomie yiddish, allant du plateau de harengs marinés, au Apfelstrüdel (délicieuse pâtisserie à base de pommes et de cannelle). Pour les amateurs de salé, l’As du Fallafel, au 32-34 rue des Rosiers est une véritable institution où se pressent sans interruption une foule d’inconditionnels, de l’ouverture à la fermeture du restaurant (fermé mardi et mercredi). Outre les commerces de bouche, on trouve également de nombreuses boutiques : Diasporama (souvenirs, librairie) au n°20 ; Art 25 (Galerie d’Art), au n°25 ; etc.

Informations pratiques : l’hôtel 9 Confidentiel proche de la rue des Rosiers dans le Marais à Paris

Situé entre les 3ème et le 4ème arrondissements de Paris dans le Marais, l’hôtel 9 Confidentiel est tout proche de la rue des Rosiers. Métro : Saint Paul (ligne 1), Hôtel de Ville (lignes 1 et 11) Depuis l’hôtel de luxe 9 Confidentiel proche de la rue des Rosiers, pensez à visiter également la place des Vosges, la rue de Rivoli, le Centre Beaubourg Pompidou ou encore l’Hôtel de Ville.